Blackberry Spice Cupcakes

2013-03-05 07_2IMG_1946

I am an epicurious girl. When I want to make something but am not quite sure what, epicuious is my go-to. Every now and then, I just browse through cakes or cookies and if I find something I think I might want to make at somepoint, I putit in my “Recipe Box” (it is my favorite feature). That is how I found/re-found this recipe.

This cake recipe looks delicious. I wanted cupcakes, so it took some conversion, and

IMG_1932

Adding sour cream.

it is certainly far from perfect. The first time I made it I used the whole recipe and it made 22. The second time I made it, I halved the recipe and got 18. I don’t think I did anything differently, but I was in someone else’s kitchen the first time, so who knows, maybe there was something different…

For Cake

  • 2 cups cake flour (sift before measuring)
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoonground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

    IMG_1940

    Fill cups 2/3 of the way full.

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 1 cup sour cream

For Filling:

  • 1 1/2 1/2-pint baskets blackberries
  • 2 tbs  sugar

For Frosting:

  • 1 8-ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream

    IMG_1939

    Egg whites, stiff but not dry.

  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Plus blackberries for garnish.

Preheat oven to 350° and line two muffin tin with cupcake liners . Sift together flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, allspice, ginger, and nutmeg in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in egg yolks. Beat in dry ingredients in three batches, alternating with sour cream. Using clean dry beaters, beat egg whites in medium bowl until stiff but not dry; fold into batter in 2additions. Fill each cup about 2/3 of the way full (about a quarter cup or an ice cream scoop, if you have one).

Bake for 18-22 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool on wire rack.

IMG_1953 IMG_1954

To fill cupcakes cut small circle, fairly deep but not all the way through, to make cutout. Cut off about half of the cutout top so that there is room for the filling. Use a teaspoon and fill in hole about 3/4 to 7/8 of the way. Put the top back on and push down a little, careful not to overfill.

For Frosting, cream butter and cream cheese together. Beat in sugar then sour cream and vanilla. To frost, I used a large star tip to make rosettes and topped them with a blackberry.

2013-03-05 07.30.13

Leave a Reply

