Supreme Chocolate Cookies (with chocolate chips and macadamia nuts)

IMG_2192

Everyone always talks about putting on winter weight. I am unconvinced that this is because I eat heavier or richer foods, (let’s be honest, I eat them year round). I think a lot of it is that I don’t want to be outside in the cold, so I choose to turn on the oven and make something delicious. It is really the only solution — I heat up the apartment a little more and I get something delicious.

These cookies are 1 part I didn’t want to go out and 1 part I wanted to mail Alex some cookies. I made three different types: Pistachio, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip, and the Supreme Chocolate Cookies. The oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are a standby, and Alex’s favorites, and I will post the recipe at some point; they are super easy! The other two were new experiments. The pistachio still need a lot of work, but the chocolate cookies were a wonderful surprise.

These cookies are sweet and salty, soft and textured, and extremely rich. They are perfect for the afternoon slump snack or an evening stuck in the house watching it snow. These are a modified version of this recipe; it made about 18 cookies.IMG_2172

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tbs all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tbs cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tbs unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup macadamia nuts (chopped)

Preheat oven to 350º. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.

In mixer, or with electric beaters, cream butter and sugar. Add egg and beat well. Add vanilla and beat.

IMG_2185Add sifted dry ingredients and mix until just combined (this will be very wet, I almost thought I needed more flour, but I was very glad I didn’t add it). Add dark chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, and chopped macadamia nuts (I used a blender and it came out a little finer than I originally anticipated (no less delicious, though).

Bake for 12 minutes. They will come out of the oven soft, but not gooey. Cool on wire rack and eat! They stay soft for several days in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

