Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_2537All I want is summer. I want summer like a fat kid wants cake (as the saying goes, sort of). I want to wear cute dresses and wander about outside. I want the wind to be a pleasant occurrence, rather than the the thing I curse as it whips through me. I just want to be warm without needing to be inside wrapped in layers.

There is a small possibility that I might regret these statement mid-August when I am melting in the humidity; but I never want winter the same way I want the summer to arrive. These cookies are my attempt at bringing a little bit of summer early. What says summer better than coconut?

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Modified from Jan Thompson of Fairfax, Virgina (The 47 Best Chocolate Chip Cookies in the World, 1983)

Ingredients:IMG_2434

  • 1 1/3 Cups all-purpose flour, unsifted
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 Tbs (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 Cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 Cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanillaIMG_2448
  • 1/2 Cup flaked coconut
  • 1/2 Cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°.

In small to medium sized bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

IMG_2470In a large bowl (or stand mixer), cream butter and sugars together. Add egg and vanilla and beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, and salt and beat until just combined. Add coconut and chocolate chips and beat to combine.

Roll tablespoon size balls and place on baking sheet (I line mine with parchment paper to ensure they slide off easily) about an inch apart. Bake 10-12 minutes or until they appear slightly golden on top. Cool and eat!

IMG_2485Coconut Choc Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

