Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_2820So, originally, I was going to post this before I left on vacation. But the funny thing about vacation is, that getting to it is pretty stressful. I was packed and thought I had plenty of time, and then, it turns out, my toothache was more than just a toothache and there was some dental drama before leaving.

These cookies make things slightly better. I packed them in my carry on (while still slightly warm) and took everything for my flights with me to the endontist. I warn you, if you want to pack these in little ziplock baggies, you should wait til the cool, otherwise a delicious crumbly mess is what awaits.

Regardless, it was delicious and Alex and I ate most of the cumbed bits of cookies in our first few days.

If you don’t put them in bags when they are too warm, these cookies are light and fluffy like oatmeal chocolate chip, but healthier because of the bananas and whole wheat flour I added.

IMG_2824IMG_2809

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted slightly from Food.com.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup banana, ripe and mashed (approximately 2)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups oats, quick cooking
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°.

Mix flours, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl and set aside.

In large bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Add egg and beat well. Mix in flour mixture slowly. Add banana and vanilla and mix. Add oats and chocolate chips and stir until combined.

Place on cookie sheet about 1 inch apart and bake 12-15 minutes.

Made a little less than 3 dozen in heaping tablespoon size cookies.

IMG_2804IMG_2824

Enjoy! And if packing, put them in containers rather than baggies.

Leave a Reply

